Welcome to the Governor’s page, where you can find out more about the Governors and the work we do.

Town Junior School is part of Broadleaf Partnership Trust, which is governed by the Board of Trustees. Each school in the Trust has its own Local Academy Committee, which reports to the Board of Trustees.

The Local Academy Committees work closely with the Headteachers and senior leadership teams and aim to ensure high standards of achievement for all pupils by:

  1. Assessing the quality of education that the school provides for pupils.
  2. Assessing the quality of engagement with stakeholders by seeking and responding to parents, pupils and other stakeholders.
  3. Assessing the experience of staff as employees of Broadleaf Partnership Trust by seeking and responding to feedback from staff.
  4. Holding the headteacher to account for the standards in the school.

I am very happy to serve as Chair for the Local Academy Committee of Town School

My involvement with Town Junior School (and Holland House Infant School) began over 25 years ago when I began to take assemblies through my work as Minister and Team Leader of Sutton Coldfield Baptist Church, Harvest being a particular favourite.  As the Church meets in the old Town School buildings opposite McDonalds, there has always been a connection. The relationship developed as my three children, now all their 20s went through Holland House, Town School and then Plantsbrook, all benefiting from the care and teaching of the different schools.  As a parent, I place a strong importance on the family care of a school and have greatly valued this in Town Junior School for my own children and the families I work with.

I was appointed as a Co-opted Governor or Town Junior School in September 2018 and have taken an active interest in supporting the wellbeing of Children and Staff

The Vice Chair is Emma Madden, a Governor since October 2019, who has also had a child go through both schools and who now attends Plantsbrook School.

We can be contacted through the school office if you wish to speak to us about strategic aspects of school life. Please remember that if you have a question about your child or about the day-to-day issues in school then that is a matter for the teacher or Head Teacher in the first instance.

If you wish to make a formal complaint you need to follow the BPT Complaints Policy. This document is available on the school website or by contacting the school office.

I look forward to working with you and your children as they progress through Town Junior School and for many, into Plantsbrook School. Please look out for regular Governor updates, which will be included in the school newsletters.


The Chair of Governors can be contacted via the Clerk to Governors on

The governing body will now be known as the Local Academy Committee and currently has the following members:

Donald Campbell- Co-opted Governor, Chair.

Emma Madden- Parent, Vice Chair.

Steve Miles- Co-opted Governor 

Michael Marshall- Co-opted Governor

Sameana Paul- Co-opted Governor

Debra Steggall- Co-opted Governor

Jennifer Campbell – Parent Governor

Jayne Adamson – Clerk to Governors